The Dick Mayo Sprint

Castle Combe Saturday 27 July 2019

This is the second of our two annual sprints at Castle Combe Circuit. At three-quarters of a lap of the circuit it is shorter than our Great Western Sprint in March, but the entry fee is lower; and besides, driving anywhere on Castle Combe circuit is still exciting and it still presents a challenge.
DMS_sprint_course_600wLike the earlier sprint it is a round of the ASWMC Sprint Championship and there are classes for a wide range of cars from Production Road Cars and Kit Cars through to Radicals and Single Seat Racing cars. The date of the 2019 event is Saturday 27 July.

To give you an idea of what’s involved some of our members can be seen competing in sprints in this video.

Dick Mayo was an active member of the Bristol Motor Club for over 40 years, and was a fervent supporter of the club’s fundamental principle of promoting affordable motorsport.

For more than 20 years, Dick was actively involved in the Association of South West Motor Clubs, as either General Secretary or Treasurer. He also sat on the MSA’s Speed Events Committee, and became its Chairman. He was also elected a director of the MSA itself (now Motorsport UK). Where others in this position might have lost touch with The Dick MayoTrophygrass roots motorsport, Dick used it to promote the interests of ordinary clubmen. He was closely involved in the return of Bristol MC to Castle Combe with a sprint in 1992, so when he died in March 2004, it seemed only fitting that what had by then become an annual event should be renamed in his honour.

The Dick Mayo Trophy that is presented for FTD at this meeting features an enamelled Alfa Romeo badge in recognition of the cars that Dick admired and drove for many years.

Two-Litre CupBest BMC Member receives the Two-Litre Cup, presented by Sir George White of Bristol Cars in 1955.

The results of the last Dick Mayo Sprint

All our sprints require organising and marshalling, so even if you don’t compete there are outlets for a wide range of other skills and interests.

Contact: Event Secretary Ady Taylor 07957 545432.

Detailed competitor information, with Supplementary Regulations and Entry Form, will be published on this website a few weeks before the next event.